Happy birthday to me

I had an amazing weekend.  On Friday, that cry was exactly what I needed.  That and chatting until wee hours of the morning with a couple of men.  That and two wonderful days in the sun with my kids. That and an amazing date with A on Saturday.  “Wow!” is all that needs to be said about that.

Today, I turned 40.  I’ve spent the last year completing a list of 40 new things before 40.  From embracing polyamory, to having sex with someone new, to buying lingerie, to getting a Brazilian wax, to throwing axes, to shooting guns, to getting in collision where we hit a moose, to making out in the back of a cop car, to taking art classes, to eating at a restaurant that I have wanted to eat at for years, to drinking a whole cup of coffee, to losing 200 lbs of disrespectful dead weight (F), to many other things, I did 40 things.

I completed my list last week.  It was a challenge to expose myself to new things for fun, that turned into a small series of changes that accumulated to make me a better, stronger, happier, more confident, and authentic person.  

This person I am now opened up OKC a week ago.  Today I had a coffee date. And it was nice.  We didn’t talk much online before the coffee, and it was really fun to just sit and chat and get to know each other a bit. The conversation flowed well and was easy and simple.  There will likely be a second date.  I have another first date next week, with a guy I’ve been talking a lot with.  I’m quite excited about it.

Life is moving forward in the most incredible ways.  Happy birthday to me.

Author: Polyagony or Polyamory

In August 2016, after 10 years of being "happily" married, my husband and I decided to embark on a life embracing polyamory. This blog is about that adventure. It's a place for me to let out my thoughts and emotions, as we discover the good and the bad of the life we have chosen. Several months later, the path we have chosen has led us down different paths, farther and farther away from each other, but no less of an adventure. If anything interests you, I'd love your comments and feedback. Discussion and differing opinions are always welcome.

1 thought on “Happy birthday to me”

Leave a Reply

